CraigD I had no hand in the loss of hand guns in Scotland. . I wasnt interested in continuing with punching holes in paper with a hand gun when it distressed those affected by the Dunblane massacre, on a personal level I found more Walter Mitty characters in the world of pistol shooting and as an ex infantryman didnt enjoy their company.
I introduced many people to pistol shooting when I was a student at open range days, ran a college clay pigeon club for three years and have helped people to take up wildfowling, game shooting ,stalking and clay shooting using my equipment and cartridges
I agree with you whole heartedly that restricting the opportunities for people to join the ranks of shooters is unfair. For an airgun licence with no possession of a firearms or shotgun certificate the price is 70 if you are to buy a cabinet then the cost will ensure that some will never aspire to enjoy shooting as a hobby as they will not get that first opportunity that would lead on to a shooting life.
If dressed to fit in there is probably no area in Scotland I could not walk in, in Scotland there is no no go zones and there is nowhere I could go where there would be any likelihood of me being shot..
As regards safety about the same, violence is mostly city street fights involving young men invariably drunk . Random violence exists but it is invariably about being in the wrong place at the wrong time Shooting incidents are low but fluctuate as a result of feuding drug dealers or organised crime gangs.