March
S M T W T F S
1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
Who's Online Now
5 members (Ted Schefelbein, Marc Ret, graybeardtmm3, Ian Forrester, 1 invisible), 832 guests, and 3 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics38,374
Posts544,009
Members14,391
Most Online1,131
Jan 21st, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Sidelock
OP Offline
Sidelock

I had seen where someone had posted about making a non-ejector barrel to an ejector barrel. I did do using my shop tools, radial drill press and a 16" drill press. I am just a hobbyist gun smith who likes to work on my own L.C. Smiths. This one is for a 16 ga. Field Grade that had a Hunter One Trigger and ejectors but the barrels were cut on the original gun.
hope you enjoy them, I had fun doing it and would do it again.
The hardest thing I have done so far is to take a stock that was not for a Hunter One Trigger and make it for a HOT. You think there is not much wood on a side lock shotgun, well there is even less once you remove the wood between the locks to accommodate the HOT. I used my mortising chisel and used the original stock as a template to guide the mortising chisel down through the inlet for the top tang to the bottom of the trigger plate. Tried it many times and finally put the good stock in and then took me about 20 minutes to get the nerve to pull the handle to the mortising chisel. Worked out great but I wouldn't try it again.

[Linked Image from i.imgur.com]

Last edited by David Williamson; 12/06/22 04:57 PM.

David

2 members like this: susjwp, Stanton Hillis
Sidelock
Sidelock

Excellent pictures, David. I admire your resourcefulness. Well done.

May God bless America and those who defend her.
1 member likes this: Run With The Fox
Sidelock
OP Offline
Sidelock

Thanks Stan. I have some degree of mechanical skills and like to work on my own guns.

David

1 member likes this: Stanton Hillis
Sidelock
Sidelock