April
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30
Who's Online Now
6 members (SKB, Marks_21, Kolar Dickson, FlyChamps, ClapperZapper, 1 invisible), 925 guests, and 6 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics38,469
Posts545,147
Members14,409
Most Online1,335
Apr 27th, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Sidelock
Sidelock

Originally Posted by Ted Schefelbein
...a gun with .006 wall, is compromised.

I work in the pressure vessel industry, and I would substitute the word 'terrifying' for 'compromised.'

Six thou' is roughly two sheets of cheap photocopier paper thick.

KY Jon #616909 07/21/22 01:00 AM
KY Jon Offline OP
Sidelock
OP Offline
Sidelock

To paraphrase Ronald Reagan, Trust but measure. Assume nothing until you know.

KY Jon #616910 07/21/22 04:46 AM
GLS Offline
Sidelock
Sidelock

I recall reading (somewhere) that with some 12 ga. 2' doubles it was believed(speculated?) that barrels were proofed in the white and when finished by the gunmaker, the barrels' exteriors may have been further struck to reduce weight which would have left bore measurements intact. I'd verify the MWT as it does sound like a misprint. Two pieces of copy paper stacked together measure .007". Here's an article that discusses the 2" 12 ga. guns and it mentions wall thicknesses with one gun measuring .012".

https://shootingsportsman.com/short-shell-12-2-guns/
Gil

KY Jon #616911 07/21/22 07:14 AM
Sidelock
Sidelock

Originally Posted by KY Jon