March
S M T W T F S
1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
Who's Online Now
5 members (Jimmy W, Hugh Lomas, eightbore, SKB, 1 invisible), 676 guests, and 6 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics38,376
Posts544,025
Members14,391
Most Online1,258
Mar 29th, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Sidelock
OP Offline
Sidelock

Good afternoon gents! When patterning for point of impact, do you cover your aiming dot with your bead so you don't see the mark, or hover the bead directly below so the mark on the paper/plate is visible? Probably a very obvious question, I apologize. I've been shooting 50/50 guns for 20 years, and got around to patterning a new shotgun I got (XF choke and large bead). I covered the mark on the paper and let fly. If correct, my new gun is more 80/20... decidedly trap country. Yet as my pattern was 26" and the mark was about 4", it suddenly makes a world of difference if one sees or does not see the mark! Thanks in advance for setting me straight!

NRA Patron Life Member
Sidelock
Sidelock

He do you shoot the bird bead below or bead covering up? POI needs to be the same.

1 member likes this: Stanton Hillis
Sidelock
Sidelock

I agree 100%. Said another way, if you shoot at a bird going dead straight away do you cover it with the bead, or do you hold the bead just barely under it? Pattern the same way.

Personally, I hold the bead just barely under the target, so that I have an unobstructed view of it. I don't like covering, and obscuring, any of the target. Even with that, I like my guns to pattern about 60/40 high.

May God bless America and those who defend her.
1 member likes this: liverwort
Sidelock
Sidelock

Received wisdom is if you want to hit a flying object you should look at the bird “not the bead”

Seems to make sense when patterning to leave the bead at 6 o’clock to the aiming mark

Sidelock
Sidelock