March
S M T W T F S
1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
Who's Online Now
1 members (Southern Sport), 860 guests, and 6 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics38,374
Posts544,016
Members14,391
Most Online1,258
Mar 29th, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
Sidelock
Sidelock

Any neutral uncomplicated background, that would distract interest in the gun, along with natural diffused daylight, or lighting that can closely replicate that, will give the best results.

Sidelock
Sidelock

Originally Posted by Stanton Hillis
Hal, I'm about as far from a photographer as a man could be, but I once read here that in lieu of a professional backdrop and lighting the best bet was photographing guns outside on a cloudy day. I've done that for years and it has always worked well for me.

Seems like once again I will have to agree with you.

I am far from a pro, and not even a great amature. Paying someone to do it for you that is a pro if they use auto ANY settings send him down the road.

Would rather shoot birds, even with a camera, than guns for sale. Done a fair share of it and it can be difficult to get it right. Hazy days usually give the best results to represent the wood grain IME.

Wait did you say a NID 4E?! No. Yes. No! Well maybe... On the short list but not right now. VA inspector is coming tomorrow morning for a refi on the house though LOL.

Flash is harsh and the finish usually interfers with a clear picture. Bouncing the flash off the ceiling helps a lot, and even then have to usually turn down the power a bit on the strobe. And that is with popcorn ceiling which diffuses light more than modern ceilings. Bright sunlight does it even worse.

Actually won a weekly photo challenge couple of years ago. Challenge was marketing.