April
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30
Who's Online Now
7 members (Jimmy W, FlyChamps, liverwort, Hammergun, CJF, 1 invisible), 454 guests, and 3 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics38,479
Posts545,210
Members14,410
Most Online1,335
Apr 27th, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Sidelock
Sidelock

Originally Posted By: Imperdix
Only use 7/8oz fibres in my s/sides for clays and they do the the job.Comfortable to shoot in lighter weight guns.Use them more often than not in o/u `s too! Mostly 7 1/2 shot but prefer 8`s if I can get them.

I've been doing the same for the last 20 years in my light 12 and 16 ga. SxS's. It makes reloading worth it.

Sidelock
Sidelock

Would like to load some but I cannot source a 7/8 oz bush for my old Redding round bar over here!

Sidelock
Sidelock

I found that Federal and Herter's have relatively soft primers and will cause some guns to stick and be hard to open. Herter's it is maybe a couple of times a box of 25. With Federals it is more frequent.

I have become addicted to English hammered shotguns to the detriment of my wallet.
Sidelock
Sidelock

It's not the primers, it's the steel heads.

"The price of good shotgunnery is constant practice" - Fred Kimble
Sidelock
Sidelock

Originally Posted By: Imperdix
Would like to load some but I cannot source a 7/8 oz bush for my old Redding round bar over here!

Couple layers of masking tape around the inside of the bushing or shot bar cavity usually works.

Keep an eye on it, and weigh the shot charge frequently.

Masking tape is remarkably durable stuff.

Sidelock
Sidelock

Good suggestion ! I do have a couple of larger bushes that I could experiment with.

Sidelock
Sidelock

It worked for me on a temporary basis long ago when I wanted to try an ounce and a sixteenth for some reason I don't remember.

Parts for your loader are going to be difficult to find.