Apr 29th, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Boxlock
OP Offline
Boxlock

Sorry, on a tablet so I have shared a link to the folder on google drive where I have photos of the Cashmore rifle I encountered.

https://drive.google.com/folderview?id=0B2s-yc-xHRVtWlhnVDRVd1JsbWs

I have no experience with hammer guns or double guns, though appreciate old firearms. I have an associate with this gun and I have a possibility to buy it. What's it worth? Not so much in $ (though that too). Are they any good? Will I be committing heracy if I were so game as to fire it?

From what I can tell is nitro proof, full choke barrles. Barrels marked as made by W.M.Cashmore Birmingham. The serial number is 14380 which from what I can tell puts it circa 1910?

The wood quality seems very good, though is worn. Barrel bores are in very good condition.the steel does not seem to be pitted, though I imagine a reblue would do it good. Embossing/engraving is as shown in photos. Any help appreciated. Anyone who knows how to value such a rifle, feedback would be appreciated.

Sidelock
Sidelock

Cashmores are great guns. I have a couple and love them. Stalones on this site uses a hammer to win sporting clays titles. Also don't reblue; they look better with the patina of well cared for age.

W. E. Boyd
Sidelock
Sidelock

Welcome to the board.

First off, rifle or shotgun? Lot of difference in value. I don't see any rifle sights and you mention "full choke" barrels. Clear this up and I'll make a valuation.

DDA

Boxlock
OP Offline
Boxlock

12 gauge shotgun.there is a single bead as with many sxs. So correct, it is a shotgun. (I didn't know that Cashmore made rifles, if I get into collecting that sounds like something I would want to get my hands on).