April
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30
Who's Online Now
3 members (Jimmy W, Ted Schefelbein, Jtplumb), 182 guests, and 7 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics38,463
Posts545,046
Members14,409
Most Online1,258
Mar 29th, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 11 1 2 3 10 11
#464580 12/06/16 12:04 PM
Sidelock
OP Offline
Sidelock

I am relatively new to the art of color case hardening and work mostly on LC Smith and other double barrels for my personal use. I have colored 2 of these guns with decent success. I am looking for a more accurate coloring with consistent results than just dumping the receiver from a rectangle crucible similar to brownells pipe crucible. Does anyone have any advice in a crucible design, way the receiver needs to hit quench, shielding, etc. I have seen some pretty good results from some on the forum. Thanks in advance

Sidelock
Sidelock

Reading of oscar gaddys articles in DGJ on the topic would be a good start.

You can try to wade through the posts on this forum on the topic, but well over half the posts you will find are nonsense instigated by one particular member who knows nothing of the process.

B.Dudley
Sidelock
Sidelock

Here you go, 31 pages of discussion and information.

http://marlin-collectors.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=3732

Regards
Ken

I prefer wood to plastic, leather to nylon, waxed cotton to Gore-Tex, and split bamboo to graphite.
Sidelock
OP Offline
Sidelock

Thanks for the info. I have looked at Dr. Gaddys articles and know what you mean by the posts on this subject. I am hoping to attain a factory look and know that the way it hits the water is crucial. I have experimented but hate to anneal and recolor more than twice in trying to come up with factory like colors. Hopefully someone will chime in that's figured this out. Any pictures, descriptions, and info is greatly appreciated.

Sidelock
Sidelock