May
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31
Who's Online Now
4 members (susjwp, ClapperZapper, Marks_21, bushveld), 527 guests, and 5 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics38,498
Posts545,456
Members14,414
Most Online1,344
Apr 29th, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
Boxlock
OP Offline
Boxlock

I need help identifying this German Drilling that was possibly made in Cologne Germany around 1870. I can't find the gunmaker anywhere and it must be a little rare because I can't find any information on it at all. The numbers and stamps are shown in the pictures. Something it has that I haven't seen on any other drilling is the top trigger switch is engraved and "snake like". I am a novice on this type of stuff, so I thank you for your help.

C. Adams Coln German Drilling, 2x 16 gauge, and one 9.3x 72mm?? rifle round, made in Coln Germany in 1870 here are some pics, was told it has silver inlaid in it in couple places and has Damascus Barrels.
Says C. Adams in Coln A/Rh. on top
Serial 4124
Says 4124 H on bottom of barrels with a couple emblems that I don't recognize, also has a "9" above an "X 47", on bottom of barrels.
4124 is also on the metal butt of the gun, along with a stamp of some type of bird with it's wings spread out.

Photos of gun Shared through google drive

Sidelock
Sidelock

Va, first off what a lovely piece!! The wood almost appears to have a coat of high gloss poly or varnish on it. Can you tell if that is correct? Most unusual....recoil pad(?) Or is it spaced out to lengthen the pull?