May
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31
Who's Online Now
2 members (Chuck H, David Williamson), 459 guests, and 6 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics38,499
Posts545,462
Members14,414
Most Online1,344
Apr 29th, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#35400 04/11/07 11:00 PM
postoak Offline OP
Sidelock
OP Offline
Sidelock

I need advice on what type of Recoil Pad Jig to purchase, or build. Or should a good Craftsman be able to do a good job without a Jig ?

Mine's a tale that can't be told, my freedom I hold dear.

postoak #35401 04/11/07 11:15 PM
Sidelock
Sidelock

I have been using one like the B-Square Brownells sells for many years and like it.

> Jim Legg <

postoak #35559 04/13/07 07:07 AM
Sidelock
Sidelock

I have never used one, as I grind all my pads on the gun. Using a jig, I am pretty certain you still need to do the final trimming by hand anyway; the big advantage is that there's no chance of hitting the finish with the disc. With a good strong light and a good wobble-free disc sander, you can reduce the possibility of messing up the stock finish. I think you'll get cleaner toe and heel angles on the pad if you grind it installed on the stock. Just may way of doing it, not nesessarily the right way; works for me.

postoak #35560 04/13/07 07:08 AM
Sidelock
Sidelock

I have never used one, as I grind all my pads on the gun. Using a jig, I am pretty certain you still need to do the final trimming by hand anyway; the big advantage is that there's no chance of hitting the finish with the disc. With a good strong light and a good wobble-free disc sander, you can reduce the possibility of messing up the stock finish. I think you'll get cleaner and more accurate toe and heel angles on the pad if you grind it installed on the stock. Just may way of doing it, not nesessarily the right way; works for me.

postoak #35561 04/13/07 07:08 AM
Sidelock