Most Online1,258
Mar 29th, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 11 1 2 3 4 10 11
Sidelock
Sidelock

I've shot dozens of Damascus double guns over the years and never had a single problem. One Fredrick T. Baker gun my wife gave me when I graduated college I shot for years (the only gun I owned for many of those years)before I learned it had Damascus barrels (its barrels had been blued years before I got the gun and the pattern did not show thru the later finish). Learning this gun had Damascus barrels so many years later certainly gave me a fright; but if any gun has ever been "proofed", this would be it! As FYI, I've only witnessed one barrel explosion (thank God!); and it was not pretty, as it removed a fair portion of a man's left hand. That barrel was an Armor steel 12-bore LC Smith barrel; but there was nothing wrong with the barrel itself, a fibre base wad had lodged in the left tube about 8" from the breech. Forensic examination revealed a very evident bulge where the wad had been lodged, and damage to the barrel set itself was catastrophic; the explosion produced a gaping split open about 8" long in the left tube, the auto ejector fore iron/splinter forearm was blown off the gun and the wood forearm reduced to shattered bits; and the barrels were bent approximately 6' to the right and about the same distance downwards.

Sidelock
Sidelock

Genelang,
It would be helpful to read the Smokeless vs Black articles by Sherman BEll and also his articles over the last few years of
trying to destroy old damascus and twist junkers with proof loads. Never did it even with 18-20,000 PSI type proof loads.

Last edited by Stallones; 08/24/11 08:21 PM.
Sidelock
Sidelock

Some bp and some low pressure smokeless loads in Lefever G, FE, and a very healthy(and thick walled) Syracuse "Hollenbeck". Shot the G at Sandanona Vintagers a few yrs. back with smokeless. Never hunted with any of them.

jack

Sidelock
Sidelock