April
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30
Who's Online Now
5 members (Argo44, Hammergun, 3 invisible), 1,205 guests, and 5 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics38,469
Posts545,144
Members14,409
Most Online1,335
Apr 27th, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Chawk Offline OP
Boxlock
OP Offline
Boxlock

I picked this up today and I thought I would share it and maybe you can help me with a few questions I have. It is a 12 gauge extractor gun and I was told it was a model 18. 2 3/4 chambers. Both barrels say '18.4 choke 18.3', so if I'm reading it correctly, it only has .1 mm of choke which is something between skeet and cylinder. I'm fairly new to this stuff but isn't it a bit odd that both barrels are the same? Serial number is 28032 which according to the serial number list would put it at 1897 or post 1989, neither of which seems right. Can anyone tell me what year it was made?

Besides a few buggered screws and some normal age it is in fantastic shape; the barrels have almost perfect bluing. It amazes me the amount of gun and the quality of workmanship you can get with old an SxS without spending a lot of money.

[Linked Image from i.postimg.cc]

Sidelock
Sidelock

Last edited by skeettx; 02/10/24 07:20 PM.

USAF RET 1971-95 [Linked Image from jpgbox.com]
Sidelock
Sidelock

I believe the date code is 'e' for 1926
The chambers are 2 3/4"
After 1924, the 18.3 and 18.4 are the bore in mm and CHOKE only indicates muzzle constriction > .008" so the choke will need to be measured
The barrel tubes are quality Siemens-Martin fabricated by Delcour Dupont (the crowned D)

Cornell Pubs has a 1925-26 Von Lengerke & Detmold catalog repro which should confirm the model
https://cornellpubs.com/product/997/
The post-1910 models are listed here
https://www.shotgunworld.com/threads/abercrombie-fitch-von-lengerke-detmold-and-francotte.393236/

Sidelock
Sidelock