April
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30
Who's Online Now
5 members (Argo44, Skeeterbd, Ted Schefelbein, dukxdog, 1 invisible), 879 guests, and 6 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics38,445
Posts544,832
Members14,406
Most Online1,258
Mar 29th, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Sidelock
Sidelock

I am no expert on this topic like so many others here are, but this past June when at the H&H store in Dallas, I compared the self-openers on both a Purdey they had in stock with an H&H that I ended up buying. Closing the Purdey took noticeably more effort than an H&H. By no means was it problematic, but the difference was definitely there.

Sidelock
Sidelock

Toby,
I kind of touched on my experience and opinion with the H&H system in my first post. I am talking about the H&H system. Not the Boss or even the Coggie system of using ejector springs to assist in opening. I am also familiar with the Smith system used on Churchills and Rossons. Strictly talking about the H&H system here because that’s what the original post was about.
In my experience with H&H system is that when the gun is fired, top lever pushed over and the system opens the gun, unless there’s enough barrel weight, or if the gun is slightly at an angle (maybe cocked a bit side ways or barrels slightly elevated) or if the shooter adds a little added momentum, the system rarely ejects the fired hulls and cocks the gun simultaneously on opening. This is MY experience with the gun. Heavier barrels definitely assist the process in the H&H system, as does having the right angle, and If the coil spring goes a bit weak, forget it.