March
S M T W T F S
1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
Who's Online Now
1 members (Travis S), 251 guests, and 3 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics38,373
Posts543,976
Members14,389
Most Online1,131
Jan 21st, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Sidelock
OP Offline
Sidelock

Very Best Custom Rifle - Westley Richards Farquharson / Griffin & Howe / Leonard Mews

A member here asked me to bring this over from another forum.

Its my excitement over this recent acquisition, that I thought to share - This is the very best custom rifle in my collection.

220 SWIFT - WESTLEY RICHARDS FARQUHARSON / GRIFFIN & HOWE / LEONARD MEWS CUSTOM SINGLE SHOT

I've been collecting custom rifles made by Leonard Mews for OVER 40 years, and have several in my collection.

Leonard Mews was a personal friend and a member of 2 of my local gun clubs.

In my opinion, and that of many others, he was one of the very best stock-makers that ever lived.

For those unfamiliar with Leonard, early in his career he worked for Roy Weatherby. Later he worked on his own, and turned out many dozens of Masterpieces.
His works were shown in many of the early Gun Digest's in the "Custom Guns" section. His hay-day was from the 1950s to the 1980s.

Here's a short introduction to Leonard Mews, - before I show-off my latest treasure.

[Linked Image from buckstix.com]

And here's my treasure.

"Best Quality" Engraved Westley Richards Farquharson New Model 1897 / Griffin & Howe, built by Leonard Mews.

220 Swift caliber
9 pounds 12 ounces with scope
25-1/2" Medium/Heavy weight barrel w/ accent Engraving
13-3/8" LOP
Presentation California Claro Black Walnut Stock
Shadow Outlined Cheek Piece
Round Rosewood Forend Tip
Signature Scalloped Rosewood Grip Cap with Raised Ivory Diamond inlay
Skip-Line "Rocket" pattern grip checkering
Skip-Line "Lightning" pattern Forearm checkering
Skip-Line "Shield" pattern Cheeks