March
S M T W T F S
1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
Who's Online Now
7 members (Borderbill, damascus, Jason Dubois, gunmaker, 2 invisible), 334 guests, and 2 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics38,374
Posts544,001
Members14,391
Most Online1,131
Jan 21st, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
Sidelock
OP Offline
Sidelock

I have a black powder cartridge rifle in production. It's my first.

I'm studying loading both black powder and smokeless. My rifle will be a 45-70.

Cautions abound to not leave any air gap above the wad(s) with black, and to not use any wads with smokeless.

This is to avoid 'ringed' chambers. The mechanism most cited for this when it occurs is the bullet acting as an obstruction while air in the case is compressed to a very high pressure causing the ring.

The fellow who runs Shiloh Rifle has on his website a photo of a barrel sawed in half lengthwise that reveals TWO chamber rings, one where the base of a 405gr bullet would be, and one at the base of a 500gr. There is thus no doubt that this does occur.

Since the volume of air in the cushion section of a plastic shotgun wad is so large, the question I have is why does not a shotgun exhibit this phenomenon?

"The price of good shotgunnery is constant practice" - Fred Kimble
Sidelock
Sidelock

Lower pressures?

My problem lies in reconciling my gross habits with my net income.
- Errol Flynn
Sidelock
Sidelock

40,000 psi vs 10,000 psi.
JR

Be strong, be of good courage.
God bless America, long live the Republic.
Sidelock
Sidelock

If ringed chambers are ring bulges, maybe it can happen in shotguns? Maybe, plastic hulls cant hang up like brass? It could be that it might not be so easy to replicate a rifle cartridge type void in a shot shell?

Sidelock
Sidelock

Two possibilities I can think of.