April
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30
Who's Online Now
1 members (1 invisible), 207 guests, and 5 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics38,441
Posts544,760
Members14,404
Most Online1,258
Mar 29th, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#493929 11/05/17 06:50 AM
DLA Offline OP
Sidelock
OP Offline
Sidelock

A friend purchased a used MX-8 a couple years ago and has had a good number of instances of the trigger group falling out while shooting. Some individuals are telling him that he is causing the problem by pushing the safety too far forward when releasing it. I have shot the gun trying to replicate the problem but cannot. I find that it takes far more forward pressure on the safety button than I can exert without bracing the gun against something.

Any thoughts from the Perazzi shooters?

Sidelock
Sidelock

I've been shooting MX8s for over 10 years, and have never seen that happen. If he can push the safety slide far enough forward to release the trigger group, with gentle thumb pressure, there is a problem with the gun. Every one I have ever had or seen required much more than gentle thumb pressure to overcome the spring to release the trigger group. Some are actually hard to push forward enough to release it. May be nothing more an needing a spring replaced, or crud built up somewhere.

I would call Phillip Crenwelge, at Phillip's Gunsmithing in Texas, and talk with him about it. If it needs attention by a technician I would highly recommend him.

BTW, I never have to move my safety slide. It stays off all the time. But, mine is strictly a competition gun.

SRH

May God bless America and those who defend her.
Sidelock
Sidelock

A very tight-fitting trigger group can mask failure of the trigger plate lock to engage its recess in the trigger plate.