May
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31
Who's Online Now
3 members (Philbert, Ken Nelson, 1 invisible), 385 guests, and 5 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics38,523
Posts545,802
Members14,420
Most Online1,344
Apr 29th, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
jeweler Offline OP
Sidelock
OP Offline
Sidelock

I'm curious I am a half full glass guy.I have been shooting Damascus barrels for maybe 5 years but hunting so not too much shooting compared to a target shooter with no problem so far. I'm curious if any of responsible shooters which I assume most on this blog are have had a damascus barrel one blow up... I'm not talking about anyone with a wad stuck in the barrel.... and not your third cousin either...YOU?

monty
Sidelock
Sidelock

nope - and i hunt with them as well

i do ( and not just damascus) check the barrels regularly for obstructions when I go through snow covered areas or have debris falling from above

Sidelock
Sidelock

I wonder how a barrel bows up from using a high pressured shell and blows some fingers off or an eye? If there is no obstruction in the barrel and a high pressure shell were to cause an issue what would really happen? Split the barrel only in the area of failure? Bulge the barrel? I can not understand catastrophic failure where a barrel does much else without a blockage.

Nothing is foolproof to a sufficiently talented fool.
Sidelock
Sidelock

If there is no barrel obstruction and the shell is too high pressure, and there is a failure, the chamber will probably blow. This happened to one of my best friends with several friends present. Charles Boswell damascus gun, overload with Unique.

SRH

May God bless America and those who defend her.
Sidelock
Sidelock