March
S M T W T F S
1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
Who's Online Now
4 members (KDGJ, canvasback, SKB, Ted Schefelbein), 790 guests, and 4 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics38,374
Posts544,010
Members14,391
Most Online1,131
Jan 21st, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 11 of 17 1 2 9 10 11 12 13 16 17
Sidelock
Sidelock

I've spent a lot of time considering Adam's photomicrograph of the blown out barrel section and his analysis of the black spots being graphite nodules. I find the same anomalies in micrographs that I have taken of the old damascus barrel in my possession. But too, find them in micrographs of damascus that I have made from modern steels.

While I am NOT an expert in the field of micrograph analization, I have found that there are a number of reasons why black spots can appear in micrographs. They can be caused by the degree of surface prep of the sample, the effects of the type of etchant used and also the size of the material's grain structure. The micrograph posted of the blown out barrel section was taken at 20X magnification. The microscope in my shop is only capable of 20X maximum. I have found it very difficult to determine the exact cause of small anomalies at this magnification level. I hope that Adam will view the blown out section at a higher magnification level, to make certain of his analysis.