May
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31
Who's Online Now
8 members (bushveld, eeb, Hammergun, ClapperZapper, Jtplumb, Jimmy W), 627 guests, and 5 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics38,501
Posts545,488
Members14,414
Most Online1,344
Apr 29th, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
Newlyn1 Offline OP
Sidelock
OP Offline
Sidelock

Ted is correct -- I am not inclined to buy used both because I haven't seen anything I want (12ga, stright grip, mod/full) and because I am still new to the double gun world and would be worried about buying a problem. (Although that Bernardelli Hemingway is tempting...)

If I were to buy a more expensive new gun, what would you recommend?

Another option is to pay another gunsmith to work on the safety of the original gun. I would have to pay out of pocket, but maybe that is worth it for not having to wait.

Sidelock
Sidelock

Having fixed a couple of my own safeties which didn't feel right to me, I can't imagine the gun was even seen by a gunsmith on the second trip. If you want the gun otherwise ask a double gun smith what he thinks about cost to repair the safety. It just shouldn't be that big a problem to smooth out the operation- probably a matter of a little polishing work on a couple of surfaces. Maybe Lion Country will even stand for the cost or a portion there of. The gun isn't likely to be sold by LC for full retail with that safety so it would be in their interest too.

Sidelock
Sidelock

I would get my money back and call De Haan Shotguns. You can get a better looking gun (IMHO), better quality (again, IMHO), better customer service and put some cash back in your pocket. You can get a SxS gun with fully hand-engraved sideplates in 12, 16 or 20 ga. for $889, or without for $719. This includes a 7-day no shoot inspection period. If you don't like it, send it back and get a refund, minus $30 shipping charges.