May
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31
Who's Online Now
4 members (Jusanothajoe, Hal M Hare, JohnfromUK, 1 invisible), 435 guests, and 5 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics38,524
Posts545,817
Members14,420
Most Online1,344
Apr 29th, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 4 1 2 3 4
Sidelock
Sidelock

Originally Posted By: shinbone
I'm no expert, but actually, grade for grade, the A.H. Fox is the better American gun.

JMHO.
And this old Fox(y) agrees 100%. The Model 21 possibly started our in 1931 (or, 1941 if you read Steve Bodio's book on shotguns closely) as a utility grade boxlock double gun, retailing at I believe, $59.95 for the double triggered and manual extractors field gun. Design began back around 1925-1926 at WRA-- interesting to me, as an amateur metallurgist-same time frame when WRA offered their FUBARed stainless steel barrels- (A good friend and fellow WRA buff has a M12 Trap gun and a M54 in .257R, both with stainless steel barrels- when that fiasco ended in about 1930, WRA went to Winchester Proof Steel (AISI 4140)and dropped the Nickel steel alloy for their barrels, receivers, etc--

So, thanks to John Olin's love of the side-by-side gun (see Houchin's book on LC Smith shotguns, you will see pictures of his 12 Specialty grade with extra barrel set- AE and HOT- cased)--and the then new WPS, he allegedly pushed for production of this "work-horse" double, as Parker, AH Fox, Ithaca and LC Smith were seeing their retail sales plummet as a result of the Great Depression.