May
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31
Who's Online Now
5 members (mark, Hammergun, R Reynolds, j7l2, 1 invisible), 875 guests, and 5 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics38,527
Posts545,856
Members14,420
Most Online1,344
Apr 29th, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
NeilC Offline OP
Boxlock
OP Offline
Boxlock

First a short introduction. I am a gunsmithing student at Montgomery Community College in Troy, NC. One of the projects I am working on is a Ansley H Fox CE grade. It does have numerous issues but the one I am working on right now is to repair the ejector guide pins.

When I received the gun, both of the pins were broken off in the monoblock. I successfully removed those. I now need to remove the other side of the pin from the ejector. On this, I have a few questions. I checked to see if the pin goes all the way through the ejector. It does not appear to be the case (to check, I used some cold blue to see if it shows a difference between the pin and ejector). So, if the pin does go in a blind hole, I need to know if it is pressed in, threaded in or installed in some other way. Removing the old pin also i a little more problematic this way as we do not have a small drill chuck for a mill that can clear the shaft of the ejector. Here is a picture to show where the pins are broken of in the ejectors.

One way I can do this is to drill from the other side of the ejector, press fit a new guide pin, weld it in place and dress the ejector down to dimension again.

I did post this on the Fox Collectors forum as well. I would appreciate any ideas and suggestions.

Neil
Gunsmithing student
http://guns.claasen.us/
Sidelock
Sidelock

If you are good with TIG the new pin could be welded in place.
bill

Sidelock
Sidelock

I never saw a Fox with a "MonoBlock".

Miller/TN
I Didn't Say Everything I Said, Yogi Berra
NeilC Offline OP
Boxlock
OP Offline
Boxlock