April
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30
Who's Online Now
6 members (bushveld, SKB, GETTEMANS, Hugh Lomas, 2 invisible), 431 guests, and 6 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics38,444
Posts544,808
Members14,406
Most Online1,258
Mar 29th, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#197036 07/25/10 12:01 AM
Sidelock
OP Offline
Sidelock

Sighting in my mauser 35 whelen AI I just built. I have been a shotgun guy all my life, just getting into rifles. First 2 groups of 3 clustered nicely. Had some vertical rising (stringing) on next 9 shells. The barrel is free floated. It was hot and I did not let the barrel cool much.

I thought vertical stringing only occurred with barrels that are not floated. True or false.

It could be me. I am an amateur from a rest. I was using a shooters ridge rest with 50# of shot. the front is not perfectly stable I need to apply firm pressure on the gun to keep it on target.

Could I have just missed?

Could I have push down on the gun enough to contact the barrel before firing or while bullet was in barrel?

Or maybe during recoil, I let the gun loose before the bullet left the barrel.

Note: it was about 100 degrees at time of shooting and barrel was not perfectly clean either.

I know this is a bit off topic, but I like the advice I get here and am proud of my first mauser sporter I built from scratch. I was inspired by the stuff I read here

Thanks

Jerry

Sidelock
Sidelock

For a hunting rifle I normally test with a three shot group.

You need to know where the first shot from a clean cold barrel goes. With a .35 Whelen you should not need more ;-).

If I shoot more than one group I let the barrel cool off. The majority of the sporting rifles I shoot are not free floated and they do start to move around after heating up.