May
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31
Who's Online Now
1 members (1 invisible), 667 guests, and 6 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics38,506
Posts545,604
Members14,419
Most Online1,344
Apr 29th, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
Sidelock
OP Offline
Sidelock

There is much ado about not modifiying or altering a shotgun from its original configuation. I believe that high end guns mfg. by H&H, Purdy et al are sent back to the maker for refurbushing without lessoning the value. While not anywhere near the the same value as the guns mentioned above, I have been shooting an AYA #2 16 gauge for about 4 years. The stock has been fitted to my dimentions and I have rubbed in a little true oil on the stock to remove scratches. I may have the checkering touched up and will probably refinish the wood in a year or two. Have I destroyed the value of the gun?

Jim
Sidelock
Sidelock

One common opinion on maintenance of market value of the Spanish clones is that you can't do much. Buy new for 4k, sell used between 2K and 2.5K. That depreciation is built-in when purchased new. I doubt any personalization could produce a result of that magnitude.

jack

Sidelock
Sidelock

I think high end British shotguns are gauged by a different set of standards then other firearms collectibles. So "freshening up" seems to be tolerable including re-blueing the barrels.
However this would be the kiss of death for firearms such as Colt SAAs or Lugers. Other opinions?
Jim

The 2nd Amendment IS an unalienable right.
Sidelock
Sidelock

If it is a 50% gun in it's original state and refinishing automatically makes it a 50% gun, what have you lost? If you like it, do it.

jas Offline
Sidelock
Sidelock