doublegunshop.com - home
Posted By: Tamid Plastic Shot Cup - 03/11/24 05:51 PM
I was reading the thread on Black Powder Reloading for Double Gun and started to think about the gas seal. I use 3 drams FFg a 1/2" lubed fibre wad, a plastic shot cup with the compression component cut off, 1 1/8oz shot, an over shot card and roll crimp. Hull is Cheddite 3" cut to 2.5". I've been using this recipe for 20 yrs in all my old doubles and have not experienced any problems. I have never sent them in for pressure testing nor have I tested the fps. Of course some of my guns pattern better than others. But I am wondering if the plastic shot cup provides any gas sealing characteristics? I am thinking upon firing, the lubed wad jams around the edges of the shot cup and any pressure on the base of the shot cup would flare it against the barrel walls aiding in preventing gas leaks.
Posted By: Joe Wood Re: Plastic Shot Cup - 03/11/24 08:20 PM
Have no idea about your concerns but my experience was incredible amounts of melted plastic in bore and it was a real job to finally get it out! Never again!
Posted By: Tamid Re: Plastic Shot Cup - 03/11/24 08:25 PM
There is no plastic residue left in the barrel. My way of loading keeps a lubed wad between the powder and shot cup so the shot cup is not exposed to the direct heat of the BP explosion
Posted By: BrentD, Prof Re: Plastic Shot Cup - 03/11/24 09:40 PM
Originally Posted by Tamid
There is no plastic residue left in the barrel. My way of loading keeps a lubed wad between the powder and shot cup so the shot cup is not exposed to the direct heat of the BP explosion
Tamid,