doublegunshop.com - home
Posted By: Chawk Cant close action: Firing pins in the way - 12/13/23 10:10 PM
Hi everyone, first post here. I am a relative newcomer to SXS and a few days ago I picked up a 28 gauge Bernardelli Roma 3 (sideplated boxlox). I was able to take the barrels and forend off and put it back together a few times but now I cant close the action as the ejectors hit on the extended firing pins. The firing pins move if I press down on them so I know they aren't stuck. Like I said, I'm fairly new to SxS's so it could be something very simple that I'm doing wrong but any help would be appreciated.
[Linked Image from i.postimg.cc]
Posted By: Fudd Re: Cant close action: Firing pins in the way - 12/13/23 10:26 PM
Have you tried pressing the ejectors flush into their pockets before you attempt to mount the barrels on the action? If yes, do they go in smoothly?
Posted By: Chawk Re: Cant close action: Firing pins in the way - 12/13/23 10:39 PM
Pushing both ejectors in results in the same situation. The right ejector goes in and out smoothly the left hits a 'snag' at some point and requires much more effort.
Posted By: Fudd Re: Cant close action: Firing pins in the way - 12/13/23 11:14 PM
I just put one of my boxlock ejectors (an old Browning B-SS) together. Its ejectors do stand proud, after I've pushed them flush, when I mount the barrels, but they have no problem camming over the extended firing pins when I reassemble and close the shotgun. You were able to do it a couple of times before this problem appeared, though?

Are you remembering to keep the opening lever fully to the right throughout the entire re-assembly process?