doublegunshop.com - home
Posted By: graybeardtmm3 question for the collective - 07/11/22 01:33 AM
https://www.gunbroker.com/item/938950728

i have little experience with belgian guns, and wonder about this one....saw it this morning and finally accessed the document re: date codes (i'm in new mexico, away from my research materials) and sent seller a message opining that proof occurred in 1938. the condition appears awfully nice for it to be off the face....or else someone did a very nice restoration and didn't bother with that aspect.

your insights are solicited.

best regards,

tom
Posted By: mc Re: question for the collective - 07/11/22 01:56 AM
Nice gun acier cockerill is steel barrels I would ask for barrel wall thickness and his return policy
Posted By: mc Re: question for the collective - 07/11/22 02:00 AM
There are a lot of guys on here who can tell you about proofs ECT.
Posted By: Jtplumb Re: question for the collective - 07/11/22 02:20 AM
I was just researching that one great deal! Found half dozen ML hammer guns at different levels of engraving. Looks like they were proud of their Grand Prze win at 1906 Milan expo with that action. This gun dates 1928 (g proof date) has cannons Declour barrels and would be quite a deal for under a grand. Seller says hinge is loose but tight? Odd. It’s been restored. I will be bidding also but good eye my friend.
Posted By: ed good Re: question for the collective - 07/11/22 02:27 AM
typical belgian smokeless proofs...

rare late hammergun...looks late 1930's...

bet argo can be more precise...

wheather redone or not, who cares, it is a lovely old gun...
Posted By: graybeardtmm3 Re: question for the collective - 07/11/22 03:08 AM
Originally Posted by Jtplumb