doublegunshop.com - home
Posted By: FallCreekFan Custom Molded Earplugs - 05/03/22 02:42 PM
For ages I have used the classic yellow Aearo foam ear plugs...

[Linked Image from i.imgur.com]

...but have been thinking about getting a pair of custom molded passive ear plugs.

In your experience:

Do the custom ones provide better hearing protection than the Aearo's or other basic foam plugs?

Which brands have you found to work the best and last the longest?
Posted By: Shotgunjones Re: Custom Molded Earplugs - 05/03/22 03:00 PM
Originally Posted by FallCreekFan
Do the custom ones provide better hearing protection than the Aearo's or other basic foam plugs?

No. They are several dB worse.
Posted By: Stanton Hillis Re: Custom Molded Earplugs - 05/03/22 03:51 PM
They do not provide quite as high a level of protection as foam plugs, but I have been wearing a molded set for 19 years, and I love them. The comfort level is unreal. I absolutely forget I'm wearing them. It's my second set.
Posted By: Parabola Re: Custom Molded Earplugs - 05/03/22 04:11 PM
Stan,

Are they moulded “plugs” or ones with electronic inserts?

Keep Well

Parabola
Posted By: Brittany Man Re: Custom Molded Earplugs - 05/03/22 04:15 PM
IMHO custom molded earplugs are not worth the money. My wife & I have used the disposable foam plugs for years, both the yellow type & currently the Howard Leight pink version w a 30 DB rating.

Several years ago my wife wanted to try a set of custom molded ear plugs & I tried to talk her out of them but she insisted.

$$ later she wore the custom molded plugs (INSTAMOLD) about 2 rounds of sporting clays & went back to the disposable foam because of better noise reduction w/ the disposable foam.

I think the problem w/ the the custom molded plugs is that the material used is too dense & doesn't attenuate the noise as well as the less dense disposable type.
Posted By: KY Jon Re: Custom Molded Earplugs - 05/03/22 04:37 PM