doublegunshop.com - home
Posted By: bls Superposed question: RKLT v SKST - 09/03/21 03:22 AM
So, I'm just learning about Super Posed shotguns.
What are the differences between a Round Knob Long Tang and a Short Tang Square Knob variant (other than of course.....the tang length and general shape of the "knob")
Posted By: John Roberts Re: Superposed question: RKLT v SKST - 09/03/21 03:46 AM
Regardless of the grip shape, round or square, the long trigger guard tang versions are always more desirable. There are versions with both combinations, but I've seen very few with a short tang and square knob. I stand to be corrected, but I think all of the salt wood guns were round knob grips, regardless of tang length.
JR
Posted By: L. Brown Re: Superposed question: RKLT v SKST - 09/03/21 10:48 AM
Isn't the Superposed code FK (flat knob) rather than square knob? I'm not a big OU fan, but that seems to stick in my memory.
Posted By: Researcher Re: Superposed question: RKLT v SKST - 09/03/21 02:25 PM
The short tang appeared right at the same time as the salt wood issues, 1967. Much to the horror of the purests, my favorite Superposed is the New Model Skeet, with the square knob and short tang that came out in 1967.

[Linked Image from i.imgur.com]
Posted By: bls Re: Superposed question: RKLT v SKST - 09/03/21 02:33 PM
So, other than salt wood, what would make a long tang version more desireable (I mean, a longer tang, yes...but are there other factors?)
Posted By: John Roberts Re: Superposed question: RKLT v SKST - 09/03/21 02:59 PM
Originally Posted by bls
So, other than salt wood, what would make a long tang version more desireable (I mean, a longer tang, yes...but are there other factors?)
The short tang was viewed as a “cheapening” of the gun, so long tang versions are considered to be a more refined, desirable model.
JR
Posted By: Carl46 Re: Superposed question: RKLT v SKST - 09/03/21 08:36 PM
Collectors will not want to read my next sentence.