doublegunshop.com - home
Posted By: Stanton Hillis No 9 lead shot usefulness - 08/02/21 01:25 AM
Up front, I'm not a big proponent of #9 shot, for much of anything that I use a shotgun for. I read recently that one 7 1/2 pellet has the same energy at 35 yards as two 9s. I've reloaded 9s in the past for doves and wild quail and have been disappointed with the number of solid hits that knock out feathers but fail to bring the bird down. I quit reloading 9s years ago for anything. I will point out that I am not a skeet shooter, but do think that 9s would be fine for the ranges at which skeet targets are shot.

I hunt early release quail (August release) regularly with a buddy who uses 9s exclusively. He seems to kill quail well with his, using a one ounce load in his 20. I use one ounce of 7 1/2s or 8s in my quail gun. I have eaten many quail he and I have killed and have found that, invariably, if I bite into a pellet in a quail breast it is a 9. It is my belief that 8s, and even moreso 7 1/2s, pass through the breast much more consistently than 9s, thus explaining my findings.

Others' findings and opinions would be appreciated.
Posted By: FallCreekFan Re: No 9 lead shot usefulness - 08/02/21 01:33 AM
Nothing to add except Amen. I shoot 7.5’s on birds and 8’s on clays. Don’t shoot skeet.
Posted By: old colonel Re: No 9 lead shot usefulness - 08/02/21 02:03 AM
I am a fan of larger shot, my preference for quail, grouse, and pheasant is size 7, why 7 and not 7.5, just fell onto it when buying Nickel silver plated in the 80’s, it worked, I stuck with it. Maybe the same reason I fell into 16 ga.

My preference for nickel silver plated shot was founded on grouse I was harvesting in Alaska in the 80’s. I noticed early on that the plated shot pulled far fewer downing feathers in the wound tracks than soft lead did.

As for #9 shot, it works, Just not my thing save for clay.
Posted By: Goillini Re: No 9 lead shot usefulness - 08/02/21 02:06 AM