doublegunshop.com - home
Posted By: Shotgunjones Why don't shotguns ring chambers? - 08/12/20 02:39 PM
I have a black powder cartridge rifle in production. It's my first.

I'm studying loading both black powder and smokeless. My rifle will be a 45-70.

Cautions abound to not leave any air gap above the wad(s) with black, and to not use any wads with smokeless.

This is to avoid 'ringed' chambers. The mechanism most cited for this when it occurs is the bullet acting as an obstruction while air in the case is compressed to a very high pressure causing the ring.

The fellow who runs Shiloh Rifle has on his website a photo of a barrel sawed in half lengthwise that reveals TWO chamber rings, one where the base of a 405gr bullet would be, and one at the base of a 500gr. There is thus no doubt that this does occur.

Since the volume of air in the cushion section of a plastic shotgun wad is so large, the question I have is why does not a shotgun exhibit this phenomenon?
Posted By: Recoil Rob Re: Why don't shotguns ring chambers? - 08/12/20 03:16 PM
Lower pressures?
Posted By: John Roberts Re: Why don't shotguns ring chambers? - 08/12/20 03:46 PM
40,000 psi vs 10,000 psi.
JR
Posted By: craigd Re: Why don't shotguns ring chambers? - 08/12/20 04:08 PM
If ringed chambers are ring bulges, maybe it can happen in shotguns? Maybe, plastic hulls can’t hang up like brass? It could be that it might not be so easy to replicate a rifle cartridge type void in a shot shell?
Posted By: Tim in PA Re: Why don't shotguns ring chambers? - 08/12/20 04:43 PM
Two possibilities I can think of.

There is a lot of airspace in the wad, but the force required to collapse the legs in concert with the lower pressures involved, keep pressures from spiking.

The other is that the shot charge is easier to force down the bore so pressures don't get a chance to spike. When a 500 grain bullet hits the rifling, it's going to want to stop, spiking pressures.

Tim