doublegunshop.com - home
Posted By: ksauers1 A Chas Smith? - 01/02/19 07:04 PM
http://www.hillrodandgun.com/picture.php?id=12904

As you can tell I'm just a beginner looking at English guns.

Your expert opinion needed

Thank you
Posted By: gunsaholic Re: A Chas Smith? - 01/02/19 07:23 PM
I can't say much about this gun in particular but I have a damascus barreled Chas Smith boxlock from around 1890. It is a 12 gauge that is well balanced and quite slim. In fact, I sent it to have the damascus barrels refinished and before checking, the gunsmith thought it was a 20 gauge when he first grabbed it.
Posted By: Rocketman Re: A Chas Smith? - 01/03/19 04:01 AM
Looks to me like a "B" grade SLE which means Original Quality grade three (OQ3). Smith is a Brand Value name level three (BV3). Current Condition level looks to be four (CC4), Heavy use, but no abuse or remanufactured.

BV3-OQ3-CC4 = $4161. However, there is the matter of the sleeved barrels. If they are properly done, we could say CC5, Minor repairs needed or proper restoration accomplished.

BV#-OQ3_CC5 = $3148.

If you are "alergic" to sleeving of barrels, you can ding the value down more.

DDA
Posted By: HomelessjOe Re: A Chas Smith? - 01/03/19 04:44 AM
Myself I have no alergies to a properly sleeved gun. The seams appear almost invisible in the pictures on my phone. ...if the choking suits you I'd take it over a 2.5" gun with original barrels.
Id still want to know bore deminsions.

I'd want to know about any cast and what are the drop points and pull to the front trigger ...and are these deminsions similar to what you shoot.

Remember you're looking at a gun that was originally fitted to a dead man...Does his ghost come with the gun ?

Better hope the guy was a good shot or his bad shooting could huant you.

Any visible repairs in the wood ?

Are you ready for a straight wristed stock.

Most sellers don't want you shooting a gun on a 3 day inspection but it's a used gun...so who's to say.