doublegunshop.com - home
I'm curious I am a half full glass guy.I have been shooting Damascus barrels for maybe 5 years but hunting so not too much shooting compared to a target shooter with no problem so far. I'm curious if any of responsible shooters which I assume most on this blog are have had a damascus barrel one blow up... I'm not talking about anyone with a wad stuck in the barrel.... and not your third cousin either...YOU?
nope - and i hunt with them as well

i do ( and not just damascus) check the barrels regularly for obstructions when I go through snow covered areas or have debris falling from above
I wonder how a barrel bows up from using a high pressured shell and blows some fingers off or an eye? If there is no obstruction in the barrel and a high pressure shell were to cause an issue what would really happen? Split the barrel only in the area of failure? Bulge the barrel? I can not understand catastrophic failure where a barrel does much else without a blockage.
If there is no barrel obstruction and the shell is too high pressure, and there is a failure, the chamber will probably blow. This happened to one of my best friends with several friends present. Charles Boswell damascus gun, overload with Unique.

SRH
Monty, I shoot an awful lot through my damascus guns and have never had any problem. One gun, an A. Alan from Scotland is my go to for skeet and it has digested thousands of rounds annually for a dozen years. Nary a problem even though there is some minor pitting in the chambers! Granted, all it has been fed is 6,000 to 7,000 psi hand loads. I did blow up a muzzleloading shotgun in the late 50's when I decided to load jest a teeny bit of Red Dot instead of black. Didn't know you didn't bulk load nitro......that little Belgium 16 let loose at the breech in spectacular fashion! No fingers lost though doc got to pick shot and barrel fragments out of me for awhile. Reckon this might be one of the reasons I shout at you on the phone.....? WHAT?