doublegunshop.com - home
Hi All:

A friend of mine has been assembling black powder rifles and pistols in his basement for many years. He told me in 1982 that he had made 500 by then. He buys the metal parts makes stocks for them then sells them.

Does he need any type of license or permits to do this? Is this legal.

I have been restocking guns for many years and have never given it a though but to assemble guns from parts for resale purposes may be another matter.

Any information concerning this matter will be greatly appreciated.

TIA,

Franchi
I'm not sure about the blackpowder stuff. I thought they were totally exempt from FFL requirements.

But, if you're doing stocks for paying customers, technically, it's a gunsmithing activity and has FFL requirements.
Well, yes and no. He’ll need a sales tax license number in order to sell it to someone in Pennsylvania. And no he doesn’t need an FFL to sell a Flinter (a good ole Pennsylvania long rifle, incorrectly referred to as the Kentucky rifle by that heathen scum) to someone in Pennsylvania. If its one of those low-down, stickin, lousy, snake-in-the-grass zip guns of which I will not acknowledge as a true muzzleloader, then yes he’ll need an FFL.

Words well spoken, treblig! I'm on your side 100%
That's music to my ears to hear of another purist out there in the muzzleloading world. I salute you sir, Mr. Krakow Kid!!! smile
Treblig1958
Here's pictures of my great grandads .58 caliber 1863 Springfield musket, complete with some minie balls for it. I'm hoping I can use it to shoot a feral pig this fall or winter.

I've been told he ran away from home when he was 16 and joined the Union Army.
Steve
Steve, I think that is the most beautiful rifle I ever saw!!! smile
And what a history!!

Good luck with hunting those hogs!! I hear you guys in Texas are being infested with them.
Originally Posted By: Rockdoc
Treblig1958