Apr 29th, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 6 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Sidelock
Sidelock

Originally Posted By: treblig1958
Why are we asking a trap shooter or a bird hunter or a collector which is Best what do they have in this game, what are they putting on the line?

Lets ask a Professional hunter in Africa which maker of gun he would use to follow up a wounded animal. Most if not all would say British. And if theyre not using a British built double then they usually say they would love to have one but cant afford one. That is what makes them the "Best"

I know, I know, well, how would you know you've never hunted DG in Africa. Well there are professional hunter here on this Board, let's ask them what maker they use or would use.

I have limited experience on this but have done 5 safaris, I dont know a PH who wouldnt have a double rifle by Holland in .470 or .500 AS A BACK UP over any other, if they could afford one. A working rifle is a different thing but when in the thick stuff, Ill take a .500 double. As J.A.Hunter said (over 1000 Rhino and 1200 Elephant all on control) "I have many friends in Nairobi cemetary who put their trust in bolt action rifles, I prefer my pair of .500 Hollands and if they had once let me down I would not be penning these words"

Sidelock
Sidelock

Quote:
The problem I have with using price as a determinate is some of the top names probably have a much higher gross profit margin than lesser known makers for equal quality. And they are able to demand the price partially based on their historic reputation. Nothing wrong with it but it should disqualify cost as a basis for judging a best.