May
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31
Who's Online Now
6 members (Der Ami, Lloyd3, gasgunner, Chantry, 2 invisible), 474 guests, and 3 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics38,549
Posts546,213
Members14,423
Most Online1,344
Apr 29th, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#247211 10/07/11 02:04 AM
Sidelock
OP Offline
Sidelock

1st remember I am an amateur. Here is my Martini-Henry.

It started life as a military grade (non-military) rifle I bought imported from South Africa. I did all of the work myself. It is as follows:
1. Cut and crowned the barrel.
2. Soldered on the front sight and barrel band sling ring. (I learned to solder)
3. Mounted the rear peep sight. (No choice hear, this is what I needed for my eyes)
4. Stocked it from a piece of cherry.
5. Checkered it.
6. Figured out how to attach the forend. (Yes, my holes are oblong)
7. Mounted the pad and covered it with leather.
8. Installed the rear swivel post.
9. Rust (water) blued the gun. I had a tough time with the receiver and to some extent the barrel. It took 3 times to get it even. I have done a bit of water bluing before.
10. Added a forend tip.

My goal was to learn and to create a gun that resembled a sporter from the period. I sure would like to own an original, but Sherman Bell seems to own them all.

It may not be perfect, but every day I spent working on it, my life got longer, not shorter.

Now, I just need to bag a hog with it… oh dam, need a non-lead bullet to do that legally. wink Dam California.
Jerry

Sidelock
Sidelock

In this august company, I'm kinda glad I can't post pictures of MY amateur efforts. By amateur standards, this seems like a great shooter that has some of the features of classic Martini sporters. Since that--and a lot of learning--were your goals, a very good job!