Maybe this has no place in a site like this but I couldn't stand by. This hits on a couple points, but seems to reflect upon gun writing and basic courtesy. I might myself not be wholly factually correct in my researched assertions (it's not my 'job' afterall). As an aside, I hope he isn't this way in 'real life.'

Here is the content of my letter to concerned parties:

"Dear Sirs,

I'm new to shotgunning and have recently been buying copies of Shooting Sportsman at the newstand.
I read the articles and absorb the content regularly. I grant high praise to your efforts and the magazine. It's a polished and wonderful magazine.

I am writing today to highlight my criticism at the gross lack of inclusion of facts presented in one particular article "Strung Out" (Sep - Oct 2008) by Contributing Editor Michael McIntosh. Yet moreso I write to to highlight the utter lack of respect given and insult made in Michael McIntosh's subsequent published reply to Mr. Helmsley's "Letter to the Editor" wherein Mr. Helmsley noted discrepencies in the article. Michael McIntosh's reply produced sufficient outrage for me to write today and I'm sure others feel the same.

I read Michael McIntosh's article concerning the stringing of shot in "Strung Out." Incidently, Mr. McIntosh's book "Best Guns" lies besides my Major G. Burrard's The Modern Shotgun 3-volume books in a blanket chest in my bedroom. The Modern Shotgun set was one of the first I purchased upon my growing interest in all things shotgunning. Mr. McIntosh is by far a talented writer, but I am absolutely stunned that he would not have consulted Major Burrard's book (Vol III The Gun and The Cartridge) when he set about to write his stringing article. Major Burrard's books are known to be a most complete review of elements of shotguns and cartridges and his authorship has been celebrated since the volumes were published. I know you are aware of this.