Now, so far I note, no one has posted any Accelerometer results. I would most certainly love to see such input. I am quite willing to be "Proved" wrong. I will not however simply cave in to "Anecdotal" evidence in which the "Tester" cannot even verify at what velocity his loads left the bbl, other than to say "I took them out of the XXXX FPS block of the loading manual".
As to Thomas yes I understand he was an "Engineer" (So was Casey Jones & he Wrecked the Train) & I am just a low life machinist. Matter of fact "Mr ED" pointed out quite sufficiently my low grade status a while back. I don't however roll over & die quite that easy.
Now as I recall, correct me here if I am wrong Larry, This test which Thomas cited was not carried out at the time of his report. I do seem to recall him stating it was "Formerly" done. Now let me state this as simple as I know how; I have little doubt these tests were carried out & that the results were as stated. I am in no way calling Mr Thomas a liar. What I do find though is that "If" there were data available giving details of the types of powder used etc, & he failed to give full particulars, that was iresponsible reporting. If on the other hand no details were available; for him to publish it & create a cockeyed story as he did to substantiate it as he did was even more irresponsible. To paraphrase him "A shell loaded with fast powder will recoil less because the shooter doesn't have time to feel it". My friend "I Ain't That Thar Igorant Yet".