doublegunshop.com - home
Posted By: marklart Lefever GE restoration - 09/15/11 09:07 PM
This is going to be old hat for many of you here, but I decided to have my recently acquired Lefever GE 12ga re-case colored, and now that I have it put back together, I wanted to show it off. This is my first time having a gun re-cased, and I'm very happy with the work, done by Mike Hunter of Mike Hunter Restorations in Missouri. This is a rare 6lb 60z special order gun that I felt deserved a full restoration. Even though the barrels are a nice plum brown, I would still like to have them refinished at some point after the season is over, to bring out the damascus pattern. Anyway, here's some pics:

Posted By: Geo. Newbern Re: Lefever GE restoration - 09/16/11 12:25 AM
Great looking gun, Mark. That stock your handywork or the way God made it?...Geo
Posted By: Mark Larson Re: Lefever GE restoration - 09/16/11 01:12 AM
Thanks. The stock is 95% God wink
Posted By: Hawaiian Uplands Re: Lefever GE restoration - 09/16/11 04:17 AM
I love the simple beauty of the old SXS damascus guns. Pride in workmanship that lasts over a hundred years!!
Posted By: johnr Re: Lefever GE restoration - 09/16/11 11:49 AM
I like it Mark, gorgeous gun.
John
Posted By: bbman3 Re: Lefever GE restoration - 09/16/11 06:43 PM
Mark that is a beauty! Bobby
Posted By: Philbert Re: Lefever GE restoration - 09/16/11 06:49 PM
Very, very nice.
Posted By: Mark Larson Re: Lefever GE restoration - 09/16/11 08:50 PM
Thanks again. For folks here who don't visit the Lefever Forum, here's what it looked like when I bought it. It was pretty rough:

It also is the only Lefever I've seen with a factory original ribbed butt instead of a butt plate (the stock is serial numbered to the gun):

It's also missing cocking indicators, and it has a rare swamped rib. A very cool gun. I feel fortunate to own such an interesting piece of history, that will [hopefully] be death on birds this fall.