The offending bushing died by blunt force trauma.

First of all thanks to all the feedback. I am relatively new to double guns and I am even newer to LC Smiths. This gun is a 1987 field grade that I came by for 325 including a really nice leather mutton leg gun case. I happened to see it just as it was listed on GB and it had a buy in now of 325.

I had been looking for a real nice and cheap learning project and there was just too much that looked like it was worth taking a chance on so I jumped on it.

When I got it I was more than pleasantly surprised. The barrels look untouched, rang true and if it has a pit or two it is arguable. The stock was un-cracked and sound. The lock up is vault tight and smooth as silk. Not a spec of pitting on the other metal.

Here is the receiver sans the son of a bushing. The left bushing came out easy enough.

Couple other pics

The deceased offender

I took the advice of trying to rotate it with a punch. I had not taken the Zep to it though. The punch did nothing but mar the bushing. I feel pretty good about my self in that I gave it the requisite patience(this is against my nature but a moral victory all in of itself). At this Point I said damn it all and got back in touch with my cave man side and went in head long.