May
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31
Who's Online Now
9 members (eightbore, Lloyd3, Guy Ave, Gunning Bird, 2 invisible), 1,009 guests, and 6 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics38,504
Posts545,552
Members14,416
Most Online1,344
Apr 29th, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Sidelock
OP Offline
Sidelock

I have seen no discussion on this series, I guess it is a bit off topic. BUT, this series is absolutely so outstanding I think it deserves some discussion. It concluded the seven parts series last evening, there will be repeats. This is definitely a MUST WATCH program. It depicts the war from the viewpoint of the people of four different US towns, and the people that lived there, including those who served and those who stayed behind. I have been a student of WWII since I was a child. It seems I have strange "connection" with the war, although I was only a child at that time. I had relatives in the war, and perhaps that's my draw. They showed film of liberating many camps in Europe near the end of the war that I had never seen before. Horrifying! Some of the worst I have seen. All in all this show deserves whatever type of award is given for public tv documenteries. Excellent.

Sidelock
Sidelock

Agree wholehearedly! I caught it last night and stayed up well past my normal bedtime to watch it thru its conclusion. Absolutely a first-rate production!

Sidelock
Sidelock

I shoot occasionally with a buddy that was in the Phillipines during the war. He was decorated for valor while there and was invited to have dinner with McArthur.I have an even greater respect for him after watching that series. My deepest thanks to all our GI's then and now.

Dodging lions and wasting time.....
Sidelock
Sidelock