March
S M T W T F S
1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
Who's Online Now
2 members (SKB, smlekid), 289 guests, and 1 robot.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics38,373
Posts543,977
Members14,389
Most Online1,131
Jan 21st, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Buzz #537942 02/16/19 11:50 PM
Sidelock
OP Offline
Sidelock

Originally Posted By: buzz
Perma Wax sounds easy. I need to try it. Hows it better than Renaissance wax?

Perma wax is made by a company that only sells/makes gun related products...I've been using their stains for 20 years.

Renaissance is a curators wax designed to be used in museums. I've used Renaissance on ivory and exotic woods since it became available in the USA. I've used it on vintage guns (metal and wood) in a down pour it seemed like it washed off pretty quick.
I don't believe Renaissance was designed with the outdoorsman in mind.

Sidelock
Sidelock

I used to wax some of my oil finish guns but I gave up because the few waxes I tried got gummy in hot and humid weather. Dove season in Yuma turned the wax to glue when it was 120 and rainy.

Sidelock
OP Offline
Sidelock

I'd be surprised if the out come would be the same with this product.

Sidelock
Sidelock

The original Rain-X contained acidified isopropynol. I've read that the newer version also contains some silicone. I don't think I want either one near my gun stocks. I recall seeing a formula to make a home made version of Rain-X that involved mixing about a teaspoon of either sulphuric or nitric acid with a pint of isopropanol. This wasn't the watered down version you put in your windshield washer reservoir. It was to be wiped on and then buffed off. I think I'll stay with using Rain-X strictly on my windshield.