March
S M T W T F S
1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
Who's Online Now
7 members (Marc Ret, Ian Forrester, SKB, eightbore, cpa, 1 invisible), 329 guests, and 3 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics38,374
Posts544,000
Members14,391
Most Online1,131
Jan 21st, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
Sidelock
Sidelock

I am offering a seminar in Metal Preparation: Rust and Nitre Bluing for custom gunmakers. I do not do double barrels in class because of all the possible problems. I do teach the complete methods for rust and nitre bluing. I have room for two student starting the last week in June in Livingston, Montana. Here are the details: http://www.doublegunshop.com/forums/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=474289#Post474289

In Class, parts ready to card, perhaps the third coat, at least 3 more to go.

I've been using this brand of wheel for more than 3 decades. This is a brand new spare I purchased more than 20 years ago. It may give you some notion of the manufacturer to source.

End Label of box, note it is Straight Steel, #16.643-1, 6", 4 rows of bristles, .003" wire diameter.

Last edited by SDH-MT; 05/07/17 04:36 PM. Reason: edit
Sidelock
Sidelock

This is the wheel I'm now using and have used for many years. I run it in one direction and find that until the wires crush like this it is way too aggressive for the finish I'm looking for. The wheels take a lot of break in to achieve the correct softness.The speed they card at is also paramount to a super smooth and shiny finish.

In use carding a finely engraved scope ring half.

Last edited by SDH-MT; 05/07/17 05:03 PM.
Sidelock
Sidelock