April
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30
Who's Online Now
5 members (trw999, KY Jon, Jimmy W, canvasback, SKB), 1,035 guests, and 5 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics38,468
Posts545,131
Members14,409
Most Online1,258
Mar 29th, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Sidelock
OP Offline
Sidelock

With apologies to my Vietnam era USMC pen-pal, John Hewitt of Anchorage AK-- great book--

Friday, 11/11 Veterans Day- decided to do a sunrise morning hunt at area arm with a nice pond surrounded by rolling picked corn ields- a goose magnet in NE Kent County, MI- and a farm I have been hunting for 25 years hand running=

Don't need but a few dekes in the field, perhaps a few floaters, and the geese move out right after dawn's first blush in the East- a West wind or hunting the best side of the pond is great, lots of brush and scrub for concealment- First flock of 5 honkers came in quietly at 0740 hrs- and decided to land on the pond, so I didn't get a shot, just added 5 decoys you can't buy from Mack's PW in AK to my few floaters- About 10 minutes and a spilled mug of hot coffee, as their ker-honk startled me-- I was scanning the sky for mallards- I came up as they hit the pond's edge and I swung the muzzle of my "pet" M12 through the long neck and head- the Limey's "Bum, Belly, Beak-then BANG" scenario, and the big honker crumpled and came down, crashing through the brush- as there were more birds working, and I was 95% sure that bird was as dead as Julies Caesar, I sat back down on my camo stool and waited- hoping to take a 3 bird daily honker limit--