April
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30
Who's Online Now
5 members (Jimmy W, CJF, PALUNC, Roundsworth, 1 invisible), 434 guests, and 3 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics38,479
Posts545,210
Members14,410
Most Online1,335
Apr 27th, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
Boxlock
OP Offline
Boxlock

Hello,
Brand new to this forum and I am politely asking for some help with a side by side rifle I have. I hope I am posting in the correct forum.

MY DISCLAIMER: I am posting here to help my father gather information about the gun my grandfather left to him. I will admit up front, that I have no real knowledge of guns or collecting, so please be very patient with me.

BACKGROUND: This is what I have been told over the years regarding the gun itself. It came from a home in Berlin, Germany. It was sent home to my Great Grandmother in the U.S. by her son (my Grandfather) when he was 'clearing houses' in WW2. To my knowledge, it has not been fired since the 1940's.

GUN INFORMATION: The name on the gun is Otto Bock, Hoplieferant, Berlin. The word Nitro appears on both sides. There is a (serial?) number of 19207. This number appears in two different places on the gun (see pics). There are also many symbols, but my father and I do not know how to decipher these.

WHAT I'M AFTER: An overall understanding of the gun. Who made it? What year is it from? How does the condition look? What do each of the individual symbols/serial numbers mean?

I can answer any questions, but like I said, I don't know anything about guns, so you will have to speak to me like you are asking an 8-year old the questions. ha ha. I can also post more pictures if that helps you help me identify the gun.

Here it is...

[img]http://i307.photobucket.com/albums/nn283/keep_it_warm/IMG_0482.jpg[/img]

Last edited by keep_it_warm; 01/09/12 08:47 PM.
Sidelock
Sidelock