Mar 29th, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Boxlock
OP Offline
Boxlock

Hello there all, just wondering if anyone would have a ballpark estimate of the value of this shotgun. Supposedly my dad told me it is an 8 gauge. I have a pic of an ithica 10 gauge next to the barrel of the double. thanks for the replies

Sidelock
Sidelock

Steven - it comes down to many variables I am afraid , and although I am by no means an expert (plenty are on here though), I have spent some time around some big bores this side of the pond.

More information would be needed on the maker (English?), on the condition, proofing and measurements of the barrels especially, and although the muzzles do not appear in bad shape, it may not be so throughout the remainder of the gun. From the other photos, the wood seems a little worn, but sound and the metal/action fit not bad (although one of the screws seems to bear evidence of some hard work/pressure on it). If you could put up more pictures, you may get some more expert views than mine.

As regards value, it really is a massively wide range; see this

http://www.gunbroker.com/Auction/ViewItem.aspx?Item=184013936

which is a recent example which appears in some worse condition than yours. A well conditioned double 8 with provenance and a strong wildfowling history/maker can often go for >$7-$8k+ or more.

Last edited by CBL1; 08/13/10 06:29 PM.
Boxlock
OP Offline
Boxlock

Yea i could definately get some more pictures up. Would you happen to know of any appraisers this side of the atlantic(maryland area)? I guess i should probably put another post up about that. I was thinking about going onto the antiques roadshow(i'd have to buy a ticket).

Last edited by stevenjames; 08/13/10 06:39 PM.
Sidelock
Sidelock

Looks 8 ga. to me.

The maker is English, as I found out from Google. Here's a 10 ga. one in about the same condition offered for $700.