May
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31
Who's Online Now
3 members (CJF, SKB, 1 invisible), 368 guests, and 3 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics38,515
Posts545,682
Members14,419
Most Online1,344
Apr 29th, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#84481 02/23/08 05:33 PM
Boxlock
OP Offline
Boxlock

I'm a newbie to SXS's; coming from a long heritage of marksmen/rifle shooters. However, I'm really interested in SXS's for probably all the reasons you all were when you first 'discovered' them.

I want to know if the reliability and durability of vintage US made doubles are what I always hear about? Or is it more like what I always heard about vintage BMW motorcycles ? I had to learn to hard way about those-they're nice, but not really daily drivers and not reliable by modern standards.

In the past two weeks I have purchased two guns that seemed fine in the shop, but one only lasted 3 shots while patterning before a failure to an internal spring, while the other lasted one round of skeet, but began to slam fire while practicing a few shots on station 2.

I took them back, and the shop owner was great about it. However, at this point I have to say that the Remington Spartan I bought, just to see if I really liked shooting a SXS, is the most reliable one I've had thus far.

Can you name names, Ive had 1 broken firing pin on a Lefever and one double fire on a Parker, Thats in 50 years with approximately 600 different doubles..MDC

Sidelock
Sidelock

Hello Sparkyflint:

Anybody can have a run of bad luck, and it sounds like you have with two used American SXS's failing the same day. Or you may not know enough yet to distinguish the thread-bare, poorly repaired, or low quality from the lightly used, well maintained or higher quality guns.