April
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30
Who's Online Now
5 members (Jimmy W, FelixD, Fudd, Argo44, 1 invisible), 462 guests, and 4 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics38,479
Posts545,212
Members14,410
Most Online1,335
Apr 27th, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2

That same sob ran across my yard. I didn't know they were that quick:)

Sidelock
Sidelock

I went out to see if it was a good show. I am a photographer and love to do night shots. Did not see a single meteor, but did get a nice view of the space station going over with the shuttle docked to it. It was definitely brighter than on a typical night.

A few months ago (don't remember when, but there was still snow on the ground, so that rules out the month of August here in northern MN) we got to see the space station fly overhead and rotate its solar panels. They called it an "irredium flare." It got exceptionally bright for about 5 seconds due to the light being delfected at us as the panels rotated. Pretty cool!

For anyone interested in astronomy stuff, here is a cool site I check every day. Always nice pics and some cool information,

daily astronomy picture link

skunk out
Sidelock
OP Offline
Sidelock

I saw two. During two different 20 minute periods starting at 12:00 and 1:20. I was laid out in the backyard in a "shady" corner surrounded by fence. Both streaks were directly overhead heading west.

I haven't posted 'cause I know the urge to call BS will be astronomical , but it's the truf. My wife saw the second one too...if that helps.

Two seen in Whitestone, NYC; where the sky is always kinda orange tinted and on clear moonless night the naked eye can see bright planets and about 3 dozen stars. Actually many more but it takes a while.

Last edited by Yeti; 08/16/07 08:22 PM.
Sidelock
Sidelock