doublegunshop.com - home
Posted By: Jeff S Hammer Gun Operating Technique - 04/06/19 08:54 PM
As I mentioned a few weeks ago, I recently purchased a 10 ga. Charles Daley Hammer gun, circa 1885. Let me first say that 3 weeks ago I visited a pheasant farm, and that 10 ga. really knocks them down. However, I'm new to hammer guns and I have to learn how to use it properly. If I shoot the right barrel, break the gun open, replace the spent shell with a new shell, the gun will not close. This is because the "left" firing pin is protruding and it hits the extractor, which prevents the gun from closing. If I push the firing pin in with my finger, the gun closes easily. I don't mind doing this, but it seems unlikely that the firing pin and extractors would have survived 135 years of use with this interference. When I received the gun, I had a gunsmith inspect it, and partially disassemble it, and he stated that it never had "springs" on the firing pins. Is there a special technique for operating this fine gun, or do I just need to be extremely careful whenever I close it? Jeff
Posted By: Recoil Rob Re: Hammer Gun Operating Technique - 04/06/19 09:10 PM
Is the left cocked? What happens if you only cock and fire the right side?
Posted By: Jeff S Re: Hammer Gun Operating Technique - 04/06/19 11:43 PM
Well.... that's a fair question. Today I was shooting "clays" in the field with my family. I was only using, and only cocking the right barrel. I had not cocked the left barrel.
Posted By: Hammergun Re: Hammer Gun Operating Technique - 04/07/19 01:52 AM
I had a gun that the extractor would hit the pins on closing. I added springs and solved the problem. I don't know if it had springs originally, but it does now.
Posted By: Jeff S Re: Hammer Gun Operating Technique - 04/07/19 12:00 PM
Interesting. Thanks for the tip.
Posted By: Der Ami Re: Hammer Gun Operating Technique - 04/07/19 03:22 PM
Jeff S,