doublegunshop.com - home
Posted By: Jeff S New Purchase: Simson - 01/24/17 02:51 AM
I recently purchased a 12 ga. Simson (made for Ivers Johnson). It's a cute little gun and I'm looking forward to chasing woodcock and partridge with it next fall. In the meantime I would like to learn a little more about it. Is there a way to identify the year and model from the serial number? The number on it is 25669. Since I'm brand new to the world of Simsons, any information is helpful. Have any reference books been written for Simsons?
Posted By: Ger Re: New Purchase: Simson - 01/24/17 06:57 AM
See here:

http://www.germanhuntingguns.com/archives/archive-simson-co/

Ger
Posted By: Jeff S Re: New Purchase: Simson - 01/24/17 11:18 AM
Wow! How much do I owe you for all of this information. Thanks!!
Posted By: james-l Re: New Purchase: Simson - 01/24/17 08:04 PM
Jeff, I also have a Simson that was sold by Iver-Johnson Sporting Goods. It is a petite 20ga ejector gun that is near new, probably sat in a gun cabinet most of its life. Cornell Publications has a Iver-Johnson Sporting Goods catalog that show the various grades they sold made by Somson. I my memory is correct it is from the early to mid 20s, I was able to identify my gun from the catalog.
Posted By: Jeff S Re: New Purchase: Simson - 01/24/17 11:55 PM
James, thanks for the tip. I ordered something last night, but I think it was the history of Simson. I'll check out the catalog.
Posted By: Jeff S Re: New Purchase: Simson - 01/25/17 12:00 AM
Also, last night I searched several old "threads" and I noticed that someone that goes by Raimey (ellenbrs) seems to know a lot about these old guns. Unfortunately I was not able to send him a "PM" because it's full. Does anyone know how to get ahold of him?
Posted By: Jeff S Re: New Purchase: Simson - 01/25/17 02:27 AM
Here's the only picture that I have right now. It has an aftermarket Miller trigger.

Posted By: Der Ami Re: New Purchase: Simson - 01/25/17 02:27 PM
Jeff S,