doublegunshop.com - home
Posted By: bamboozler Glue to glue on a rubber recoil pad? - 04/13/19 11:04 AM
The type of rubber recoil pad that I am considering installing on my gun requires that it be glued on. What would be the proper glue to use?
Posted By: SamW Re: Glue to glue on a rubber recoil pad? - 04/14/19 01:20 PM
Bam, looks like that is a stumper of a question. I have no experience with your specific question but I do know that 3M makes a black adhesive for attaching weather stripping to painted metal car bodies. I have used that and it works well. It is something you might try on a sample piece.
Posted By: Mark II Re: Glue to glue on a rubber recoil pad? - 04/14/19 07:05 PM
Goat Tuff archery glue works well for things that receive shock
Posted By: Wild Skies Re: Glue to glue on a rubber recoil pad? - 04/15/19 04:34 PM
Thank you for your suggestions Sam and Mark, I've also been recommended Pliobond. On the packaging of Pliobond is printed that it's good for both rubber and wood.
https://www.acehardware.com/departments/...ckId=2662837187
What type pad is it, that "requires" that it be glued on and not screwed on? Just trying to learn.

SRH
Posted By: Wild Skies Re: Glue to glue on a rubber recoil pad? - 04/16/19 02:20 AM
Originally Posted By: Stan
What type pad is it, that "requires" that it be glued on and not screwed on? Just trying to learn.

SRH

I have a Perazzi Comp 1 Skeet that now has a Kick-Eez pad installed. That pad needs to be replaced. I want the gun to be as it came from the factory, so I figure I might as well go with the real McCoy. I e-mailed Giacomo Sporting in New York to find out what pad Perazzi put on this gun originally. Shown below is the factory original pad, supplied to Perazzi by Pachmayr, and is to be glued on. I understand that all Perazzi guns come from the factory with glued on pads.

Posted By: Craigster Re: Glue to glue on a rubber recoil pad? - 04/16/19 04:26 AM
Why don't you ask Giacomo or Pacmayer or Perrazi ?